

Executive Meeting Minutes-March, 2016

Date 03/08/2016

Position/Role	Name	Attending
Past-chair	Dave Speth	Y
Chair	Jeff Trent	Y
Chair-elect	Jim Wasil	Y
Secretary	Puran De	Y
Treasurer	Kelly Moran	Y
Treasurer-elect	Krishna Bobba	Y
Councilor I	Edmund King	Ν
Councilor II	Joan Esson	Ν
Councilor III	Virginia Songstad	Ν
Alternate Councilor	Donald Songstad	N
Alternate Councilor	Bob Kroshefsky	Y
Alternate Councilor	Robert Woodman	Y
Guests	Nicholas Bashian (Young Chemists Committee Chair)	NA

Meeting Minutes:

5:35 Call to order

• Meeting was called to order by Chair Jeff Trent as soon as a quorum was reached.

5:36 Review of February meeting minutes

- Minutes from February 18, 2016 meeting was reviewed and a few spelling corrections were pointed out;
- A motion was brought to the floor by Dave Speth to approve the minutes after addressing the corrections;
- Motion was seconded by Krishna Bobba, and was approved unanimously.



5:40 April meeting at OSU Golf Course

- Proposed Event for April: Undergraduate Student Award (Date- April 20, 2016);
- Event preparations are on schedule, Dave Speth is working on finalizing the contract to secure the venue for the event;
- The winners from the March event (Poster Session jointly hosted by ACS-Columbus section and the OSU Chemistry Club) would be invited to the April 20th event to receive their prizes;
- ACS-Columbus section would announce the mentorship program aimed at bringing together larger community in Chemistry at the Columbus area at the April 20th event. Puran De will send out an outline on the scope and goals for this program via email to all committee members as well as to contacts at OSU. Joan Esson is expected to help us in getting input from the local colleges to broaden the reach of the mentorship program. The executive committee members and other contacts would be invited to provide their input on the scope, goals, and other details on the program prior to the April 20th meeting so that the program can be launched on time with all details.

5:45 May Meeting Planning

- Proposed event for May: HS Chemistry Teacher of the Year Award Reception;
- Jeff Bracken is in charge of selecting the winners;
- Dave Speth will communicate with Jeff Bracken to choose a date for the May event;
- Michael Stamatikos, OSU-Newark physicist, would discuss Science Denialism at this event.
 - Robert Woodman would communicate with Michael Stamatikos for his availability to be able to finalize a date for this event;
- Dinner menu for this event would have to be discussed in the next meeting.

5.50 September Meeting Planning

- Proposed event for September: All-Ohio Sections joint activity at the Columbus Zoo;
- Jim Wasil proposed to pursue Innovative Project Grant (IPG) program as an All-Ohio Sections joint activity. He would work on finalizing details for this proposed program. The concept of this program was approved unanimously in the February 18 meeting;
- Jeff Trent will write a Letter of Approval to pursue the IPG as an All-Ohio activity;
- Columbus Section Awards could be presented at this event
 - Dave Speth will work on finalizing a date and venue for this event



5:58 New Business

- COSI requested ACS-Columbus section to renew their support for the Community Access Program (CAP). COSI offers admission subsidies to the underserved children and disadvantaged families through Schools from the area. This program helps bring awareness to science in the larger community.
 - A motion was brought to the floor by Robert Woodman, and was seconded by Kelly Moran.
 - The motion was approved unanimously by the committee
- Kelly Moran wanted to make sure that the Treasurer-elect, Krishna Bobba, was authorized to use the ACS-Columbus bank account. They will communicate the bank to confirm.

6:02 Poster Session Event at OSU CBEC Building

- Judges were selected for the evaluation of posters. The following were the judges for this event for the two categories-
 - Graduate Category: Hannah Safaat (Asst. Prof. at OSU), Robert Woodman, Puran De
 - Undergraduate Category: Bob Kroshefsky, Jim Wasil, Jeff Trent
- Puran De handed out poster evaluation rubric to all the judges.

6:05 Meeting was concluded